Prison Penpal Andrew Hernandez

Andrew Hernandez

Andrew is 49 and incarcerated in the US (CA).

Meet AndrewAndrew's PoemMore about AndrewContact InformationSentence Information


Please permit me to start off by thanking you for taking the time to read my introduction.

I am a divorcee with three adult children. I was married for 14 years and I’ve been divorced since 2005. I am the youngest of three elder siblings. I was raised by a strong single woman and because of this, I have an unwavering profound respect for ALL women, regardless of their background, ethnicity, history or sexual preference. I am extremely family-oriented.

I am well-educated, excluding my occasional lapse of better judgment in the past. I’m a high school graduate who, prior to his incarceration, was employed as a Journeyman Electrician, and loved his career choice.

My hobbies include any outdoor activities, sports, writing my own poetry, and exercising. I’m a patient, nonjudgmental, compassionate person who is quite the conversationalist. I have NO hidden agendas or alternative motives. I prefer quality time and avoid squandering time.

I have goals still to accomplish, however I’m strong-willed and persistent. One goal is to have a positive influence on all willing to listen and learn from my mistakes. I believe that through my poetry, I might be able to reach more people than I know. I’m searching for a publishing company willing to possibly publish my poetry… One day?

I’m hopeful of establishing positive and lasting friendships founded on mutual interests and open-mindedness. I’m a generous listener with a shoulder always readily available to either lean or cry on. Everyone needs someone to seek guidance or solace from. Others just need another to listen to their troubles. Then there are times when words unspoken have a more profound impact.

Here are four qualities about myself. I’m LOYAL. I’m HONEST. I’m DAMAGED, but NOT broken. I CHERISH INNER BEAUTY, because it’s eternal and won’t fade with time.

If you would like to know the individual behind this introduction letter, please contact me, either by regular mail or by emailing me through the GettingOut app, using my name and correctional ID number.

Yours truly,
(please comment on my poetry!)

Hide ‘n’ Seek

Each day that bids me bye
Is more strenuous than the last,
Loneliness has begrudgingly bedded down
As reality hits leaving me aghast.

Whilst the sun begins to descend
Ever so slowly the minutes tick pass,
As nightfall signals the end of day
Dispelling the fallacious front at last.

Such effort must be exerted
To pull off such an extravagant charade,
Come sunrise only to be repeated all over again
Much like at sunset when my pain shines bright as day.

As a clown paints on their face
Causing people to both laugh and smile,
But once their painted face has been removed
Some might see them as devoid or vile.

‘Twas not always this way for me
Earlier on sheer joy was genuinely mine,
Hardships in life eventually take their toll
And leave their In/visible scars behind.

Skillfully accustomed to concealing pain
So well unable to discern fake from real,
Feeling less and less as time moved onward
Until eventually there’s nothing left to feel.

Putting on a pretentious smile for all to view
Suppressing any memories of life’s early pleasantries,
By keeping oneself in perpetual motion
Permits escape so I need not remain in captivity.

Were I ever to display my true unmasked emotions
All of humanity would see that I am gravely weak,
Not even remotely close in appearing to be strong
For this is why, I must partake in playing Hide ‘n’ Seek.

Date of Birth: 12/08/1972 (49 years old)
Gender: Male
Marital Status: Divorced
Sexual Orientation: Straight
Race: American Indian
Ethnicity: Hispanic or Latino
Eye Color: Brown
Hair Color: Brown
Height: 6 ft. 3 in.
Body Type: Average
Hometown: San Gabriel, California (USA)
Spoken Languages: English, Italian, French, Tagalog, Spanish, German
Religion: Christian
Astrological Sign: Sagittarius

Profile will end on: 08/01/2023

Andrew Hernandez #G10339

High Desert State Prison
P.O. Box 3030
Susanville, CA 96127

Some correctional facilities may contract with private companies located in a different state to receive and process their incoming mail. Visit our FAQ for more information on the matter.

@ Prison Email System: GettingOut

Some facilities do not allow outgoing emails.
Make sure to always include your mailing address in your first email.

Willing to write abroad: Yes

Click here and find out precious information about mail regulations, email systems, money deposits, telephone calls, packages, visits and much more!

You must be at least 18 years old and have read our Terms of Service before contacting an inmate.

Incarcerated Since: 2005
Sentence Received: 25 years to life (under 3 strikes sentencing law)
Earliest Release: 2026

Click here to see the conviction(s)

1st Degree Burglary (x2)
Possession of a Controlled Substance

All information disclosed in this profile was submitted by the inmate and verified by Wire of Hope to the best extent possible with the search engines available online. The list of convictions disclosed in this profile does not reflect the entire criminal history of the inmate; only the conviction(s) for the current incarceration. To verify and/or get more information about the inmate’s offenses, feel free to use the inmate locators online or to reach out to their prison administration (more information here). Further details about criminal cases can sometimes be found on Google (enter the name of the inmate with their location).
Click here to read Wire of Hope’s precautionary measures for engaging in correspondence.