Prison PenPal Matthew Cullen

Matthew Cullen

Matthew is 44 and incarcerated in the US (KS).

Meet MatthewMore about MatthewContact InformationSentence Information

Hello!!

My name is Matthew! I am 6’3″, 240ish pounds, dark complected- Cherokee Indian, French, Irish, German, English-but white, and I have only one tattoo.

I play guitar, mandolin, sing/write songs and write books. I am in the publication phase of my first two novels, am working on my third and have around forty more unique ideas on my mental drawing board including ideas for children’s literature. I also exercise on all planes -physically, mentally, spiritually- daily and am in better shape than when I was half my age. I am in excellent physical shape and my blood pressure reflects it, I do a neurobic regimen every morning that includes solving complex math in my head, and I do my morning prayer, Bible study and devotions. My cell is my “office.” I got a naughty-body!

I am a certified paralegal, and besides law, I study Biblical history, languages, American history, music, algebra, neurosciences, medical science, among other peripheral and varied subjects. I also do a substantial amount of legal work for other inmates. It gives me meaning and purpose, one thing a lot of my “peers” lack and is a precursor to returning to this desolate and despondent place. I use those terms specifically to describe not only the physical environment, but the mentality. Unfortunately, at least in the Kansas Department of Corrections, prisons are more of a warehouse where they should be a hospital. This is the impetus behind my ideas for prison reformation of which I have already drafted a seven-page paper that delineates the problems and resolutions. I am in the executive clemency process for which the administration is doing everything that they can to tacitly discourage and stop. Before I go any farther though…

On January 12, 1997 when I was nineteen years old, I was involved in a car accident of epic life-changing proportions. I not only broke my neck, back, three ribs, dislocated my collarbone among various cuts, bruises and swellings, but I also suffered a very severe traumatic brain injury and was comatose for thirty-five days. When I awoke, the Matthew to whom my loving mother gave birth to was dead. At the confluence of the intracranial hemorrhaging and bruising on my brain was the destruction of behavioral safeguards. I was not only impulsive, compulsive, emotionally erratic, had pronounced logic, reasoning, judgment and memory deficits, had little cognition, was physically uncoordinated and unbalanced and was socially inept, but I had little to no self-control. Less than three years later, I was in jail for my first felonies. It was terrible and I will always carry a cross of remorse for it is not who I ever dreamt I would become, who I wanted to be and definitely not who I am today.

But, during my first time in prison, other than a strong pharmaceutical broth, I received no sort of treatment contoured around my unique behavioral issues. Nobody would accept the fact that I do not fit the atypical psychological profiles that are neatly categorized and medicated in the penal system. It wound up being the perfect storm for future legal/behavioral problems, revenge by a crooked District Attorney’s office, and my recovery. Despite much adversity, because of prison, I am a better man.

I am a kind, compassionate, God-loving, humorous intellectual who at a young age, lost his way. But, then I decided to do something about it. No one is stuck the way that they are and I strongly desire to help lead the way for prison reformation and brain injury research and rehabilitation.

I am not looking for money or romance. I am looking for an open-minded, engaging and thoughtful woman who can think for herself, does not revel in gossip or slandering others and who enjoys exploring newness and ideas. I am not all knowing and would enjoy feedback that would help me to be a better man and develop for it is a never-ending process in life.

I am proud of who I am now and am becoming and if you want to “become” with me, write to me! Note that the two pictures are about what I look like. Of course, the picture never does justice! Send your own, and know that whatever you reveal to me will stay between you and I always. Should you want to hear my voice, I can call prepaid using the prison telephone system too.

Welp, I look forward to making new friends and when I get out -hopefully sooner than later- should something romantic spark, okay. Friends first though! God bless.

Without wax,
Matthew J. Cullen

P.S. If you know anything about the Spanish Renaissance and language history, the above closing would make sense. If not, I will tell you someday. Maybe.

Date of Birth: 08/21/1977 (44 years old)
Gender: Male
Marital Status: Single
Sexual Orientation: Straight
Race: White
Ethnicity: Not Hispanic or Latino
Eye Color: Brown
Hair Color: Brown
Height: 6 ft. 3 in.
Body Type: Athletic
Hometown: Kansas City, Missouri (USA)
Spoken Languages: English, but willing to learn more
Religion: Christian
Astrological Sign: Leo

Profile will end on: 01/13/2023

Matthew Cullen #72123

Hutchinson Correctional Facility
P.O. Box 1568
Hutchinson, KS 67504
USA

Some correctional facilities may contract with private companies located in a different state to receive and process their incoming mail. Visit our FAQ for more information on the matter.

@ Prison Email System: GettingOut

Some facilities do not allow outgoing emails.
Make sure to always include your mailing address in your first email.

Willing to write abroad: Yes

Click here and find out precious information about mail regulations, email systems, money deposits, telephone calls, packages, visits and much more!

You must be at least 18 years old and have read our Terms of Service before contacting an inmate.

Incarcerated Since: 2005
Sentence Received: 25 years
Earliest Release: 2032

Click here to see the conviction(s)

Aggravated Kidnapping
Rape; Sex Intercourse Without Consent
Attempted Rape; Sex Intercourse Without Consent

All information disclosed in this profile was submitted by the inmate and verified by Wire of Hope to the best extent possible with the search engines available online. The list of convictions disclosed in this profile does not reflect the entire criminal history of the inmate; only the conviction(s) for the current incarceration. To verify and/or get more information about the inmate’s offenses, feel free to use the inmate locators online or to reach out to their prison administration (more information here). Further details about criminal cases can sometimes be found on Google (enter the name of the inmate with their location).
Click here to read Wire of Hope’s precautionary measures for engaging in correspondence.
NEXT PRISON PENPAL
PREVIOUS PRISON PENPAL
- SHARE THIS PAGE WITH YOUR FRIENDS -