Prison PenPal Matthew VanEmburgh

Matthew VanEmburgh

Matthew is 36 and incarcerated in the US (VA).

Meet MatthewMore about MatthewContact InformationSentence Information

I was just going to say: “I’m awesome, so write me,” but I was advised to be a bit more detailed. Don’t know what I could add to that to pique your interest more, but I’ll give it a shot. I mean seriously, how do you follow “I’m awesome”? Everything else will just seem lame in comparison.
Anyways, physically speaking I am tall and lean with an athletic build with dark hair and blue eyes. I also have tattoos across much of my upper body. I enjoy being physically active, both sports and working out. Though sometimes the repetitiveness of working out does make me feel like a dog chasing his own tail. But thankfully it is a nice tail, so there is a pleasant view. I also love to read, namely science-fiction and fantasy. And if I have spare time, I enjoy gaming. Yup, I’m a nerd at heart. But that’s supposed to be cool now (finally!).
As much as I enjoy it, I’m not all play. I also work hard for a chance at a better future. I have been able to earn my Associate’s and Bachelor’s Degrees in the past few years and am currently working of my Master’s Degree. I have also found that I have some small talent for writing and have been able to get a few of my pieces published.
You know, living in prison is a strange thing – you live amongst others, but you still feel so alone. It can feel as if you have to wear a mask all of the time and that you cannot let anyone behind your walls. I would love to find someone who I could be myself with, someone who simply likes me for me. Someone who will not look at me for what I’ve done, but for who I’ve become. I think that would feel nice.
So, all are encouraged to write, no matter what age, creed, gender, sexuality, or whatever. I am looking for good conversation and companionship, and whatever else may transpire. And if you’re still on the fence, remember: I’m awesome, so write me.

Date of Birth: 05/18/1986 (36 years old)
Gender: Male
Marital Status: Single
Sexual Orientation: N/A
Race: White
Ethnicity: Not Hispanic or Latino
Eye Color: Blue
Hair Color: Black
Height: 6 ft. 1 inch
Body Type: Athletic
Hometown: Winchester, VA, USA
Spoken Languages: English
Religion: Christian
Astrological Sign: Taurus

Profile will end on: 04/28/2024

Matthew VanEmburgh ##1014366

River North Correctional Center
329 Dellbrook Lane
Independence, VA 24348

Some correctional facilities may contract with private companies located in a different state to receive and process their incoming mail. Visit our FAQ for more information on the matter.

@ Prison Email System: JPay

Some facilities do not allow outgoing emails.
Make sure to always include your mailing address in your first email.

Willing to write abroad: Yes

Click here and find out precious information about mail regulations, email systems, money deposits, telephone calls, packages, visits and much more!

You must be at least 18 years old and have read our Terms of Service before contacting an inmate.

Incarcerated Since: 2002
Sentence Received: Life plus 100 years
Earliest Release: 2024

Click here to see the conviction(s)

First Degree Homicide
Attempted Capital Murder
Aggravated Malicious Wounding
Breaking and Entering

All information disclosed in this profile was submitted by the inmate and verified by Wire of Hope to the best extent possible with the search engines available online. The list of convictions disclosed in this profile does not reflect the entire criminal history of the inmate; only the conviction(s) for the current incarceration. To verify and/or get more information about the inmate’s offenses, feel free to use the inmate locators online or to reach out to their prison administration (more information here). Further details about criminal cases can sometimes be found on Google (enter the name of the inmate with their location).
Click here to read Wire of Hope’s precautionary measures for engaging in correspondence.