Prison PenPal Shane McCullough

Shane McCullough

Shane is 43 and incarcerated in the US (NC).

Meet ShaneMore about ShaneContact InformationSentence Information

I’m 43, going on 11 years in prison, and hoping to parole in under a year. So I’m hopeful that I’ll find some kind of connection to the outside world that’s not someone I’ve done time with.

Looking for someone who can relate to the urgency of a fleeting life not yet truly lived. Someone whose inner life often feels deep and lonely among the crowd, and whose first love is Life, though not only in the sun, but also in the shades of blue. I want to talk about bittersweet things, hard things, true things. Joy in melancholy just as much as interested passions.

I’m interested in relationships that live and breathe and grow into whatever they are best at becoming. I’m aiming high from this lowest of places, and hoping to form connection with a depth and a willfulness, and the capacity to create a unique space of its own.

After many years of prison it has truly sunken in: I spent a lot of my life at the bottom of a dark well, took too long to see the light, but eventually found the ways to climb – relationships, a sense of community, the expression and exploration of ideas and ideals, and the strength to be vulnerable and let yourself be seen. I’ve educated myself toward life and freedom, though I remain a prisoner.

That being said, I understand well the absurdity of looking toward such connection from prison in this society. Considering my crimes, which are truly not vanilla, it’s even more absurd. Still, I have to try and I have to – and want to – go on living. The only counter I can offer for my absurdity is the promise that I’ll be completely honest if asked about my past and what I’ve done. And that after all this time and everything I’ve learned, I’m just as repulsed by it as anyone else would be.

I laugh when I cry and bruise from a fall. Perhaps I could serve as a place of understanding to someone else who knows what it is to fall, to shatter, to gain insight through pain. I can truly understand the process of the breaking apart of identity and certainty into a thousand questions you never even know how to ask until you did the impossible work of relearning everything.

I love learning. Philosophy is a favorite of mine (more Nietzsche than Kant). Books, exercise, outdoors – actually, I’m interested in just about anything as long as it allows the participation in moments of life with another person.

Whoever you are out there, I’m excited to know you.

Date of Birth: 09/07/1978 (43 years old)
Gender: Male
Marital Status: In a Relationship
Sexual Orientation: Straight
Race: White
Ethnicity: Not Hispanic or Latino
Eye Color: Brown
Hair Color: Brown
Height: 6 ft 3 in
Body Type: Athletic
Hometown: Kaysville, Utah (USA)
Spoken Languages: English
Religion: N/A
Astrological Sign: Virgo

Profile will end on: 01/04/2023

Shane McCullough #72547

San Juan County Jail
P.O. Box 30022 – PMB 35803
Durham, North Carolina 27702
USA

Some correctional facilities may contract with private companies located in a different state to receive and process their incoming mail. Visit our FAQ for more information on the matter.

@ Prison Email System: GettingOut

Some facilities do not allow outgoing emails.
Make sure to always include your mailing address in your first email.

Willing to write abroad: Yes

Click here and find out precious information about mail regulations, email systems, money deposits, telephone calls, packages, visits and much more!

You must be at least 18 years old and have read our Terms of Service before contacting an inmate.

Incarcerated Since: 2011
Sentence Received: 12 years to life
Earliest Release: 2022

Click here to see the conviction(s)

Attempted Aggravated Sexual Abuse of a Child

All information disclosed in this profile was submitted by the inmate and verified by Wire of Hope to the best extent possible with the search engines available online. The list of convictions disclosed in this profile does not reflect the entire criminal history of the inmate; only the conviction(s) for the current incarceration. To verify and/or get more information about the inmate’s offenses, feel free to use the inmate locators online or to reach out to their prison administration (more information here). Further details about criminal cases can sometimes be found on Google (enter the name of the inmate with their location).
Click here to read Wire of Hope’s precautionary measures for engaging in correspondence.
NEXT PRISON PENPAL
PREVIOUS PRISON PENPAL
- SHARE THIS PAGE WITH YOUR FRIENDS -