Prison PenPal Kevin Cooper

Kevin Cooper

Kevin is 65 and incarcerated in the US (CA).

Meet KevinMore about KevinContact InformationSentence Information

Hi, I’m Kevin Cooper, and this is a brief letter of introduction.

I am currently 65 years of age and have been on death row at San Quentin prison since May of 1985. Any information that you may want to learn about me, my case and my plight can be found at

I am a very active person in this place, I exercise every day, and play lots of basketball as part of my exercise program. I am a writer who has had published many of my essays, which you can find and read on the website above. I am also a painter, and my art has also been exhibited in many different places as well, and you can find out about them on my above website.

I am also a public speaker about living on a modern-day plantation / prison, the death penalty, as I came within 3 hours and 42 minutes of being strapped to the death gurney in this prison on February 10, 2004, before a stay of execution that I received on February 9, 2004 was upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court. I have spoken to students at the University of Southern California, San Francisco State University, The University of San Francisco, UC Hasting College of Law, and many other places of higher education.

I am a member of Amnesty International San Francisco Group 30, and all of these things and more can be learned about me on my website and/or Facebook page which is

I am 6 ft. tall and weigh 185 pounds and have no health problems other than getting old in prison. If anyone decides to write to me, either here in this country or elsewhere in the world, I hope that a person who is not only against the death penalty will correspond with me, but a person who is an activist in action as well as in words will do so. What I mean by that is someone who will stand up and speak out against oppression as I do. I am in support of and in solidarity with all people who are oppressed in this world! It’s going to take all of us to end oppression because oppressors don’t stop oppressing because they want to; we have to make them.

I am not asking for anyone out there to do what I am not doing from within this cage that I am forced to live in against my will. I am a communicator and believe that open and honest communication is the most important part of any type of relationship.

My preference would be to communicate with a woman, and that’s only because I am surrounded by and interact with only men. ‘But’ I am willing to write to anyone who is willing to write to me.

With these few things said, I will end this missive for now, hoping that I will hear from someone whose life has a meaning and purpose like mine does, to make a positive difference in this sometime negative world that we are in.

Sincerely & Respectfully,
Kevin Cooper

Date of Birth: 01/08/1958 (65 years old)
Gender: Male
Marital Status: Single
Sexual Orientation: Straight
Race: Black or African American
Ethnicity: N/A
Eye Color: Brown
Hair Color: Black/Gray
Height: 6 ft.
Body Type: Athletic/Thin
Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (USA)
Spoken Languages: English
Religion: Not Religious, but Spiritual
Astrological Sign: Capricorn

Profile will end on: 12/31/2024

Kevin Cooper #C65304

San Quentin State Prison
San Quentin, CA 94974

Some correctional facilities may contract with private companies located in a different state to receive and process their incoming mail. Visit our FAQ for more information on the matter.

@ Prison Email System: GettingOut

Some facilities do not allow outgoing emails.
Make sure to always include your mailing address in your first email.

Willing to write abroad: No

Click here and find out precious information about mail regulations, email systems, money deposits, telephone calls, packages, visits and much more!

You must be at least 18 years old and have read our Terms of Service before contacting an inmate.

Incarcerated Since: 1983
Sentence Received: Death Sentence
Earliest Release: N/A

Click here to see the conviction(s)

1st Degree Murder (x4)
Attempted Murder

All information disclosed in this profile was submitted by the inmate and verified by Wire of Hope to the best extent possible with the search engines available online. The list of convictions disclosed in this profile does not reflect the entire criminal history of the inmate; only the conviction(s) for the current incarceration. To verify and/or get more information about the inmate’s offenses, feel free to use the inmate locators online or to reach out to their prison administration (more information here). Further details about criminal cases can sometimes be found on Google (enter the name of the inmate with their location).
Click here to read Wire of Hope’s precautionary measures for engaging in correspondence.